Breaking News


Engr. David Umahi
Minister, Federal Ministry of Works

...... Promises to ensure a seamless and timely payment of compensation on the Lagos-Calabar Coastal Highway project but warned that only those legally entitled to compensation would be shortlisted.

Nigeria's Minister of Works, Engr. David Umahi on Thursday inaugurated a 19-man committee to review the report on the Environmental and Social Impact Assessment in respect of compensation for Section 1, Lagos-Calabar Coastal Highway project. 

This is in keeping with the established rules on compensation and the ideals of transparency of the Renewed Hope administration of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

L-R: Honourable Minister of Works, Engr Umahi and the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Works, Yakubu Adam Kofarmata during the zoom meeting at the inauguration of the 19man Committee.

The 10-man committee which has a time frame of 10 days to submits its report, is required to interface with stakeholders and property owners that will be affected by the project with a view to recommending those who are entitled to receive compensation from the Federal Government as required by law. However, no specific figure was provided to cover the total amount to be paid as compensation to those affected by the project which is put at about fifteen trillion naira.

At a brief ceremony which was held via zoom inside the Conference Room of the Minister at the Federal Ministry of Works, Headquarters Abuja, the Minister directed that the commitee works strictly with the terms of reference, which is to verify and authenticate the list of those to be compensated and submit a report within 10 days effective 18th April 2024. 

According to Umahi, "We are setting up a review committee to look at the work done by the Environmental and Social Impact Assessment ESIA. The works to be reviewed by this committee is very simple. Their task is to interact with the property owners that are going to be affected, and then in their presence, in the presence of the committee and the ESIA Consultant and the Contractor, look at the compensation as enumerated to be paid, and where possible, visit the site."
He disclosed that compensation will be based on rates as captured by the Federal Goverment, for the enumeration. 

"I know very well that there is nobody that is ever enumerated that is ever satisfied with how much is to be paid, but we are bound by the law, and so we are using federal rates."

The Minister promised to ensure a seamless and timely payment of compensation on the Lagos-Calabar Coastal Highway project but warned that only those legally entitled to compensation would be shortlisted. 
Throwing light on the processes involved, he said: "There will be a form that will be provided to property owners that they are expected to fill out that includes their bank accounts. Once this is done and properly authenticated, we will authorize payment within 72 hours. 

"The contractor is going to be paying directly to all those who are affected, and this we are committed to doing. This verification will start Wednesday in Lagos, and of course, we have to make it very clear that 250 meters legally belong to the Federal Government. So if you have a title within these 250 meters and it is not a title from Federal Government, then there is going to be an encumbrance, and only Mr. President can give a waiver if he feels so, for the person to be paid."

The zoom meeting the affected property owners and other stakeholders, was in furtherance of the resolutions earlier reached in the stakeholders engagement meeting held by the Honourable Minister of Works in Lagos on 11th April 2024 whereof, opinions were ventilated from different groups of stakeholders and decisions were reached on the need for a review of the report on the enumeration by the Consultant on the Environmental and Social Impact Assessment, ESIA of the affected areas.

The committee members were constituted to reflect the different groups of stakeholders, including Lagos State Government, affected Local Government Areas, Traditional Rulers, Estate Developers and residents, as well as professional bodies.

Members of the Committee are:

1. Engr (Mrs) Olukorede Kesha (FCW, Lagos State) -  Chairman
2. Rep. of Director, Bridges and Design. -  Engr Oladele Sola
3. Rep of Honourable Minister of Works. -  Barrister Joseph Ekumankama
4. Engr Olufemi Dare. - FMW, Lagos
5. ESIA Consultant. - Dr. Eugene Itua
6. Rep 1 ESIA. - Suv. Popoola Lateef
7. Rep 2 ESIA. -  Emmanuel Eneh
8. Rep. of Oba Oniru.  -  Mr. Yemi Stephen.
9. Rep. of Oba Elegushi. - Mrs. Peju Omotayo
10. Rep. of Oba Ojomu of Ajiran land.  -Hon. Jide Akintoye
11. Rep of Oba Onibeju of Ibeju  - Mr Agbaje Adesegun
12. Rep. of Eti Osa Local Government.   -   Adeola Adetoro
13. Rep. of Ibeju Lekki Local Government.  -  Hon. Moruf Isah
14. Olawale Ojikutu (Min of Lands, LASG)  -  Secretary
15. Rep. Of LASG Surveyor General.  -  Moyosore Faji
16. Rep. Min of Physical Planning LASG. - Kunle Bello
17. Rep 1 Hitech.     -   Mr. Willie
18. Rep 2 Hitech.     -   Mr. Ashton
19. Rep DLS.    -    Mrs Igboko

No comments

Drop Comment