Breaking News


Dr. Tunji Alausa
Hon. Minister of (State) Health and Social Welfare

"The members were chosen to reflect all the geopolitical zones in the country as enshrined in line with the National Health Act, 2014." Alausa.

A team of seasoned healthcare professionals with varied experiences in various aspects of healthcare management, supported by the statutory regulatory bodies in the health sector, have been inaugurated as members of the National Tertiary Health Institutions  Standards Committee (NTHISC).

The inauguration ceremony which had the Honourable Minister of State for Health and Social Welfare, Dr Tunji Alausa in attendance, took place  at the Shehu Musa YarÁdua Centre, Abuja, yesterday. 

With this inauguration, the federal government has reiterated  its commitment towards improving the governance of health systems, which is the first pillar of the current administration's focus. Others are population health outcomes, unlocking the value chain, and health security,  Alausa emphasised. 

The Minister of State noted that the members were chosen to reflect all the geopolitical zones in the country as enshrined in line with the National Health Act, 2014.

Additionally, they were chosen to ensure compliance and a high level of standards in our Tertiary Hospitals in line with global best practices. 

Group photograph of the newly inaugurated Committee members.

Members of the committee are the Chief Executives of the Tertiary Health Institutions represented by Dr Adedamola Dada 0 (Federal Medical Centre, Ebute-Metta) and Prof Ahmed Ahidjo (University of Maiduguri)

The Registrars of the 14 regulatory bodies  in the health sector are also statutory  members, and these include the National Postgraduate Medical College, Medical and Dental Council  of Nigeria, Nursing and Midwifery Council  of Nigeria, Pharmacist Council of Nigeria, Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Registration Board (MRTB) Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria  (MLSCN) Dental Therapists Registration Board, Optometrists and Dispensing Opticians Registration Board,

Others are Community Health Practitioners Reg. Board (CHPRBN) Dental Technologist Registration Board of Nigeria (DTRBN), Institute of Chartered Chemist of Nigeria, the Health Records Registration Board of Nigeria (RRBN) and the Institute of Public Analysts of Nigeria (IPAN)

The secretary of the committee is the director and head of the Department of Hospital Services, Dr Salaudeen Jimoh,mni and the representatives of the Federal Ministry of Education, Federal Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning and the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation are also members. 

The functions of the committee are listed below:

a) Advise the Minister on matters affecting the establishment of Tertiary Hospitals in Nigeria 

b) Prepare periodic master plans for the balanced and coordinated development of tertiary hospitals in Nigeria.

c) Establish minimum standards to be attained by the various tertiary health facilities in the nation and also to inspect and accredit such facilities, among others. 

d) Make relevant investigations and recommendations to the federal and state governments on tertiary health care services in the national interest;

e) Advise the federal government on the financial needs, both recurrent and capital, of tertiary health services and in particular investigate and study the financial needs for training, research and services and make appropriate recommendations for these. 

Others are to set standards and criteria for the allocation of funds from the federal government to tertiary health institutions, monitor their utilization, and source for grants as laid down by the committee. 

g) Collate, analyse, and publish information about tertiary health care services annually;

h) Lay down broad operational guidelines in all areas of management for use by the Tertiary Hospitals Management Board;

i) Monitor and evaluate all activities, receive annual reports from the tertiary hospitals, and supervise annual peer review 

j) Carry out such other activities as are conducive to the discharge of its functions under the National Health Act. 

The Honourable Minister of State added that the committee may also get directives of a general nature not relating to the specifics given by the National Health Act about the exercise by the committee from time to time.

Alausa further informed the committee that the Department of Hospital Services of the Ministry has been charged to support the committee's routine activities. 

It is expected that the Committee, once fully operational, will provide the opportunity to strengthen and provide guidance to the Subnational Health Institution Standard Committee, he stressed. 

Earlier in her remarks, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Daju Kachollom, mni assured the members of the committee the unflinching support of the Ministry towards the provision of adequate funds and enabling the environment to operate optimally to achieve the set goals of the committee. 

She congratulated the Chairman of the Committee, Prof Philip Abiodun, and his esteemed team on success in the discharge of their duties as the nation looks forward to a positive shift in the status of the Tertiary Health services through the contribution of the committee. 

Chairman  of the Committee, Professor Phillip Abiodun expressed the committee's determination and readiness to help the government in some areas it is facing challenges such as medical tourism, leading to enormous loss of revenue to this country, the Japa syndrome with a  massive continuous loss of capable manpower in the health sector and the issue of perennial industrial unrest and the resultant poor health situation of the populace. 

Abiodun urged the Ministry to support the committee by providing all necessary resources needed by the committee to discharge their duties effectively. 

He assured the minister of regular consultations and briefings of the Minister and other relevant authorities as may be necessary. 

A statement issued and signed by Patricia Deworitshe, Director Information stated.

No comments

Drop Comment