Breaking News

OBA ODE-ERINJE STOOL: Tell Akinrinwa To Honour Court Order.... Four Ruling Houses Urge Ondo Governor

Mr. Lucky Ayedatiwa
Acting Governor, Ondo State

"We are aware their case is currently awaiting judgement in the Supreme Court. He wants to push the people of Ode Erinje to endless litigation like Okitipupa." 

As the battle for who becomes the next Oba (King) of Erinje rages, the Ijaye, Alara, Gbogunrun and the Akinyemihun Ruling Houses in Ode-Erinje have called on the Ondo State Acting Governor, Mr. Lucky Ayedatiwa, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, the Commissioner of Police, State Security Service and the Amotekun to prevail on the Chairman of Okitipupa Local Government Council, Igbekele Akinrinwa, to obey Court orders/injunctions and desist from nominating Warrant Chiefs for them.

The Ruling Houses wondered why Akinrinwa, who has not more than two weeks to stay in office alongside some self styled Kingmakers, would want to foist their choices on them.

The four ruling houses made the call in a statement signed by Prince Ebunola Akinyemi Agbede, Prince Daisi Alara and Prince Yeni Aduwo respectively. 

The four ruling houses warned that they will enforce the Court Order themselves if the Governor and the relevant institutions fails to call the Local Government Council Chairman to order which will led to their arrest and prosecution.

They said the Council Chairman has been holding nocturnal meetings despite two different court injunctions, boasting that he will make sure he imposes his stooge as Oba on the people of Ode Erinje before he leaves office.

They noted that the Council boss is known for sponsoring Kingship crisis. 

According to them, "He was the arrowhead of the Kingship crisis in Okitipupa, his home town where they currently have four Kings parading themselves in one town. 

"We are aware their case is currently awaiting judgement in the Supreme Court. He wants to push the people of Ode Erinje to endless litigation like Okitipupa."

They said the Ondo State Acting Governor, Mr. Lucky Ayedatiwa should hold the Okitipupa Local Government Council Chairman, Mr. Igbekele Akinrinwa accountable for any breakdown of law and order in Ode Erinje.

The four Ruling Houses warned that crisis is currently brewing over the matter in Ode-Erinje following the refusal of the Council Chairman to honour and obey Court injunctions.

They recalled that after the demise of Oba S.O Akinlalu II, the 10th Orungberuwa of Ode Erinje, the case went to court in 2016 and they were in court to challenge the Ebiekuraju Ruling House. 

"In 2017, the court, through His Lordship Justice Ikunjuni placed an interim injunction and order restraining all parties from taking further steps over the stool. Since then, the case has been pending in court. Last year, the Acting Governor, His Excellency Mr. Lucky Ayedatiwa invited all the parties to Akure. After the meeting, he confirmed to us that Ode Erinje has no Chieftaincy declaration and as such, the hands of the government are tied, coupled with Court injunction and orders. 

He advised all the parties to go  back home and settle  by using Ode Erinje's tradition and customs to select or elect our King and, that we should follow our traditional rotational system of order and also, make plans to lift the injunctions place on the matter. The peace meeting was held but the Olajorin faction of Ebiekuraju refused to sign the agreement reached after the meeting thereby, making the meeting end in a deadlock, despite the injunction that subsist.

"We were shocked to get a letters from the Council Chairman directing Kingmakers to nominate Warrants Chiefs, The Ijaye  and Alara Ruling Houses protested against this develoment by writing a Protest Letter to the relevant government agencies. 

"Similaly on the 1st of August 2023, the Ijaye Ruling House also filed a new suit with No HOK/52/23 and also got another 2nd court injunction with orders by His Lordship, Hon Justice Ologun from Okitipupa High Court, restraining all parties and all relevant Government Agencies, the Chiefs and Warrants Chiefs, High Chief Seja Ayodele, High Chief Anthony Aderoehinwo, High Chief  Gbenga Akinyode, Chief Ayeniyi Olayeye, Chief Ebunola Odofin, Mr Dairo Fabiyi. Mr. Tobi Olatubora, Barr. Ilemibayo Ehinmosan, from going ahead with the selection or election pending the determination on motions on notice."

No comments

Drop Comment